HomeAsia CupTeam India announced for Asia Cup: Kohli-Rahul return, Bumrah...

Team India announced for Asia Cup: Kohli-Rahul return, Bumrah out of team due to injury

- Advertisement -

The 15-member Indian cricket team has been announced for the Asia Cup. Rohit Sharma as the captain and KL Rahul as the vice-captain have been given the command.

Virat Kohli, who took a rest on the West Indies tour, has returned to Team India.

- Advertisement -

KL Rahul, who has been troubled by constant injury, will also return from the Asia Cup after regaining fitness.

However, strike bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the Asia Cup due to injury.

India vs Pakistan Excitement Goes In The Air from First Match

Team India has got a chance to avenge the crushing defeat against Pakistan in the first match of the T20 World Cup. The Indian team will face Pakistan in the Asia Cup on 28 August.

This time the Asia Cup is being hosted by the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC). Earlier there were discussions about getting it done in UAE due to the economic crisis.

Quick reminder that the last encounter between India and Pakistan was in the T20 World Cup last year 2021. Pakistan team led by Babar Azam beat India by 10 wickets.

Asia Cup is important in terms of preparations for the World Cup.

Here are all the squads for this year’s tournament:

Group A

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan. Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.

India The 7 Time Champions

The Indian team has participated in 13 editions of this tournament so far and has been the champions seven times.

Apart from this, the team reached the final three times but had to face defeat.

Sri Lanka is in second place.

Sri Lankan team has been champion five times and runner-up six times. The Pakistan team has won this title twice.

Qualifiers from 21st August

The qualifiers for the Asia Cup will start on August 21.

In this, other teams including UAE, Oman, Nepal, and Hong Kong will land.

One of these teams will qualify for the main draw.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh have already got a place in the main draw.

The last Asia Cup match was held in the UAE in 2018.

This time the tournament will be in T20 format

This time Asia Cup matches will be played in T20 format.

Earlier it was played in the ODI format.

It was organized for the first time in 2016 in T20 format.

Then Team India defeated Bangladesh by 8 wickets in the final.

In such a situation, the record of Team India is good here.

They captured the title for the 7th time by defeating Bangladesh in the final.

- Advertisement -

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

Why are more and more MotoGP riders using the Noson nasal dilator?

Introduction MotoGP riders or athletes are physically fit and healthy individuals and their muscles are continuously functioning and used during the performance. As a fan...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

How Suresh Raina Batted India Into The Finals of 2011 World Cup

Its been 9 years, since India won the Cricket World Cup defeating Sri Lanka on 2 April, 2011. The images and visuals of...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Age Fraud in Indian Cricket: Are players really to be blamed?

There have been times while watching a cricket match when we tend to hear commentators comment on cricketers’ age. We as fans have many...

Southampton XI if they didn’t sell their star players

Southampton, a club located in the south coast of England, have one of the most renowned youth academies in the Premier League.  Despite producing class...

Ajax XI if they didn’t sell their star players

Based in Amsterdam, AFC Ajax, who incidentally draw their name from the legendary Greek hero of the same name, are the most successful club...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -