HomeCricketIndian Women's Team Qualifies For ICC Women's World Cup...

Indian Women’s Team Qualifies For ICC Women’s World Cup 2021

- Advertisement -

Indian Women’s Team, the finalists of the 2017 Women’s Cricket Cup, has qualified for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 to be held in New Zealand between 6th February 2021 to 7th March 2021.

Indian Women’s Team Qualifies For ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 (YouTube)

The qualification was possible after ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) decided that 6 teams (viz. India, Pakistan, South Africa, Australia, Sri Lanka and New Zealand) would share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020 that could not take place during the competition window.

Points Shared Due to Force Majeure

Indian Women's Team Qualifies For ICC Women's World Cup 2021
India v Pakistan series could not be held as BCCI was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances. (Image Credits:India Today)
- Advertisement -

All eight teams in the ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020 were slated play each other in a three-match series. However, India v Pakistan series, which is part of ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020, could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan.

Meanwhile, two other last round ICC Women’s Championship series, where South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand, have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

India Qualifies By Virtue Of Its Standing In Points Table

With the sharing of the points, India is now ranked 4th, with 23 points, in ICC Women’s Championship Standings.  

Indian Women's Team Qualifies For ICC Women's World Cup 2021
ICC Women’s Championship Standings, where India is ranked 4th. India qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 by virtue of its standing in the points table. (Image Credits: ICC)

According ICC rules, the host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four highest-placed teams on the points table qualify directly for one-day international cricket’s pinnacle event. Thus, India qualified for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 by virtue of its standing in the points table.

Other Teams To Play Qualifiers

Pakistan (19), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) the other teams would now have to play the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier for the remaining 3 places in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021. The Qualifier is scheduled to be played from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka, but it is subject to review due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the qualifiers 10, which includes the four teams mentioned above, will compete for the remaining 3 spots. The teams to compete would be the two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the five regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and Netherlands (Europe).

Indian Women’s Team Played Two Finals

Indian Women's Team Qualifies For ICC Women's World Cup 2021
Indian Women’s Team Qualifies For ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 (Image Credits: Indianexpress)

Indian women’s team has made it to the finals of the last two ICC tournaments, ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 and ICC women’s T20 World Cup 2020. In the former they lost to England, whereas in the later they lost the Australia.

New Zealand Will Play The Tournament Opener

ICC Women's Cricket World Cup New Zealand 2021 Match Schedule
ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 Schedule (Image Credits:ICC)

The ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 will be a 30 day 31 match tournament to be played at six New Zealand cities: Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin. In the opening match of the tournament, hosts New Zealand will take on one of the qualifiers.

Follow us on facebook for more sports news & updates

- Advertisement -

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

Why are more and more MotoGP riders using the Noson nasal dilator?

Introduction MotoGP riders or athletes are physically fit and healthy individuals and their muscles are continuously functioning and used during the performance. As a fan...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

How Suresh Raina Batted India Into The Finals of 2011 World Cup

Its been 9 years, since India won the Cricket World Cup defeating Sri Lanka on 2 April, 2011. The images and visuals of...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Southampton XI if they didn’t sell their star players

Southampton, a club located in the south coast of England, have one of the most renowned youth academies in the Premier League.  Despite producing class...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -